Nine cities to compete for the European Capital of Innovation 2016

On 21 January, the European Commission announced the final competitors for the European Capital of Innovation 2016. 

The nine finalists are:  Amsterdam, Berlin, Eindhoven, Glasgow, Milan, Oxford, Paris, Torino and Vienna. The Commissioner also considers the achievements of each of nine shortlisted cities to be “outstanding in their own right” and he expects that they “will encourage many others to invest in their innovation ecosystems.”

The European Capital of Innovation award was launched in 2014. The first winner was Barcelona, selected by a panel of independent experts “for introducing the use of new technologies to bring the city closer to citizens.”

In this second edition of the award, which has higher prize money, the European Commission wants to celebrate the European city that is building the best “innovation ecosystem” by connecting citizens, public organisations, academia and business.